skip to Main Content

Penguins Protected Players

The National Hockey League will expand to 32 Teams with the addition of the Seattle Kraken. The new team will join as a member of the Pacific Division in the Western Conference. When new teams are added to the League, an Expansion Draft is held. Seattle must select one player from each existing Club, except the Las Vegas Golden Knights, who were the last team added to the League back in 2017. So how does this look for Pittsburgh?

Here is the list of Players the Penguins chose to Protect from being Drafted. They selected 7 Forwards: Teddy Blueger who recently signed a two-year deal with the Pens for a value of $2.2 Million. GM Ron Hextall noted that Blueger is versatile two way Center and is valuable to the Team. Jeff Carter brought on last Season will be protected along with Sidney Crosby, Jake Guentzel, Kasperi Kapanen, Evgeni Mlakin, and Bryan Rust. Those are all the Forwards Pittsburgh has chosen to Protect. On the other side of the ice, three Defenseman staying in the Steel City for sure: Brian Dumoulin, Kris Letang, and Mike Mathewson. Then one Goalie: Tristan Jarry.

There are a few notable names left off this list including Jason Zucker, Zach Ashton Reese, Sam Lafferty, Marcus Petterson, and Brandon Tanev.

The NHL Expansion Draft will take place this Wednesday, July 21st at 8 p.m. We’ll let you know who’s headed to Seattle later this week.

Back To Top